Spinach & corn casserole covered with mashed potato

I’ve been missing a lot on blogging and really feeling  guilty…. I feel bad because I’m not being an active participant in contributing and sharing my food thoughts and feel disconnected in the food blog world. Do you feel the same sometimes? I know  there is no excuse for not blogging but needless to say I’ve been experimenting a lot with food 😉

In past few weeks I’ve tried and tested/tasted some of the recipes that have been a success at the Farmer’s Market, I will share them all soon with you :). For now I would like to introduce to your table –  casserole with a mashed potato topping….

Bangalore Club has  always been serving  spinach and corn bake in most of  their buffets and I would really help myself with large helpings :)….They usually make it more creamier by using white sauce and I thought of making one at home which omits white sauce and is gluten-free (apart from the cheese topping).

2cups chopped spinach
1cup sweet corn kernels
2cups mashed potato
1/2 cup finely chopped onions
2tsp crushed garlic
1tsp pepper
1tbs olive oil
1tbs butter
1/2 cup milk
mozzarella cheese or any other (optional)
salt to taste

 Heat oil in a skillet and add chopped onions and crushed garlic. Let the onions soften and add chopped spinach, corn, pepper, salt and cook until done. Take it off the stove.

Take the mashed potatoes and add milk, butter, salt and mix them really well, like the way you would make mashed potatoes.

Take a baking dish or a bowl and pour the prepared spinach and corn mixture topped with mashed potato and grated cheese.

I microwaved in grill option for 15 minutes or you can bake. You will see a nice brown crust on top and you know it’s ready to be served hot. Serves 2-4.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by  Briciole  and Cook Almost Anything.

7 Comments on “Spinach & corn casserole covered with mashed potato”

  1. Simona says:

    This recipe sounds really good to my ears as I like all the ingredients. And I like the photo: I wish I could cut a piece from it right now. Thank you so much for your contribution to the event.

  2. soulcare says:

    Looks yummy,must be tasting even better ! ~http://blog.soulcare.in/

  3. Claudia says:

    Corn, spinach, potatoes and cheese are a delicious combination, especially in this gratin style dish. Looking forward to trying it.

  4. Nafisa H. Kagalwala says:

    Tried it with white sauce. Turned out deliciously yummy. Proof – my son polished off the entire dish!!!! Need I say more?
    Thank you for the recipe.


Leave a Reply

