Vegan for a day

‘Vegan for a day’ is a challenge organised by Harini of Tongue Ticklers  (I’ve met her couple of times in many blogger events and really admire her photography skills) in collaboration with Preethi and Srinivas of Kyra (they sell natural detergents which is chemical-free and certified organic too).
Harini has interviewed them in her blog, so hop on to her blog first to read about these lovely entrepreneurs and don’t forget to come back and read my experience with being Vegan for a day 🙂

I’ve always believed that most of our indian or everyday cooking is mostly vegan unless you add ghee or butter. So I decided to take up the challenge and wanted to test my will power for a day.
My daily ritual in the morning is to have a cup of milk tea. Only when I took up the challenge, I realized that milk in my morning tea is such a big deal. Tea without milk kinda made my day seem dull. I immediately shook myself out of any  negative feelings and was looking forward to the challenge.
I usually don’t eat any breakfast (I know it’s  a bad thing but I’m lazy to cook or go into  the kitchen in the morning). If I’m hungry before lunch I munch on some dry or fresh fruits.

Lunch was simple with some varan bhaat (dal and rice) with alu bhajji and chilli pickle. Dal was made simple with some gur (jaggery) and seasoned with hing (asafoetida) and cumin seeds in oil. Alu were sautéed till golden brown and seasoned with some salt and chilli powder.

I had a little sweet craving in the afternoon and I decided to make a 5 Minute Microwave Cake  (recipe given below) to have it with my evening black tea.

Dinner was simple carried in a dabba to office (ah an enterpreneur’s life). Sautéed Mushroom served on a bed of organic wheat couscous seasoned with paprika, black peppercorns and garnished with fresh basil.

5 Minute Microwave Cake

Recipe has been adapted and been modified from a fellow blogger and a good friend Madhuri of Cook-curry Nook.

1 1/2 cup All purpose flour
1 1/2 cup sugar (preferably raw sugar)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2tbs flax seed powder mixed with 1 cup of warm water
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/3 cup oil
1/3 cup water
1/2 tsp vanilla powder or 2tsp vanilla essence
pinch of salt

Sift all dry ingredients together like the flour,baking soda, baking powder, vanilla powder twice and transfer to a bowl.
Add sugar and stir well. Stir in water, flax seed, chocolate chips and oil and mix really well. The batter must have a ribbon like texture.
Pour the batter into a greased microwave safe dish – glass or plastic.
Now cook the cake on high (900W) for 5 minutes.

Once down allow it to cool completely and try piercing fork, tooth pick or knife to check for wetness. The cake will be done if there is no residue left on any of the devices that you use for testing.
Cut them into desired pieces and have it with tea or with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. You can negate adding chocolate sauce as the chips do the trick 😉

Verdict:  I was  travelling to Bangalore and thought that it would be a great idea to give a taste to my mother and sis in law as they are very new to the concept of vegan. They were surprised that there was no milk or butter and yet it tasted so good. I’ve tried the same recipe with milk and butter and believe me there’s not much of a difference between the two.

Vegan for a day was a challenge that made me realize that it takes a lot more of will power and determination to stay away from things that you have been brought up with. Kudos to Harini, Preethi and Srinivas for being an inspiration to many others….

3 Comments on “Vegan for a day”

  1. Harini says:

    That cake slice looks tasty, Megha! And yes, one really cannot make out much difference in cakes. That is why vegan cakes by Chef Chloe won at the Food Network’s Cupcake Wars last year.:) I like your sauteed mushrooms in couscous too! Thank you very much for participating.:)

  2. […] of i2cook is one of the lovely girls whom I got to know during Mumbai Food Blogger meets.  She is a young […]


Leave a Reply

