Being an entrepreneur (part 1)

I have so many things running in my head that it’s not funny anymore. It has driven me out of my comfy bed, late in the night to come out and share with you about what I’m feeling.

It’s been a year (well almost) stepping into the shoes of ‘being an entrepreneur’. It took me a year to come out and write about my feelings not because it  didn’t matter but because I thought that I wasn’t ‘ready’.

A year (or even few months) back I didn’t even know whether I could call myself an ‘entrepreneur’. I always thought that I’m not ready for it..maybe not yet. But now I feel different.  Different because I want to blog more and share my experiences with you and not bury my emotions of  good and bad times that I have had.

Being from an architectural background and not practising it for sometime was a ‘ Big’ deal for  me at one point. My family and friends thought that I was a lost soul and that I wasted five years of studies for what – Cooking?!

When I started off my gig at the Farmer’s Market selling bottled products and making simple salads for people to relish. I realised that I was enjoying myself more than what I have done anything else in my life. The experimentation with products and cuisines is what got me started to start a small brand of my own – i2cook.

After the experimentation and getting some audience to taste what I cook – the next big question  was  – what next?

I chose a line with no experience what so ever and no one in the family doing the same thing. I just dived into the pool of ‘Retail’ – like they say there is always some room for more :).

Dealers, suppliers, payments, manufacturing, prospecting, pitching is all that life has been since I started. Sounds boring but trust me I never felt bored. I did have short bursts of frustration, when people would keep me hanging for months to just give an answer – not now, maybe later…. Arghhh.

But there have been some good times – when your family and friends realise that this is the only thing you want to do and start encouraging you. I have met some amazing people who saw something in me even before I was confident of myself, as a cook. I thank them from the bottom of my heart because people like them have kept me going.

Entrepreneurship is not an easy ride and it took me almost a year to call one myself. Everyone has their up’s and downs, mood swings or one of those pessimistic moments, but at the bottom of it all ‘Passion’ can only make you work and deal with anything that comes your way.

Goodnight and look forward to share more experiences with you.

 

 

3 Comments on “Being an entrepreneur (part 1)”

  1. Rushina says:

    Hey ‘Entrepreneur’ ,

    Taking an untrodden path is never easy. But you have cracked the most important thing – you enjoy what you are doing! Believe me thats the most important ingredient. And look where you have reached! Such a long way from where you started! BUT you have many, many more peaks to scale. And we ae all waiting for the next cool thing out of your kitchen! So you hang in there. And remember there are lots of us are here to back you up!

    Best!
    Rushina

  2. Ruchi Shrivastava says:

    Hey Megha,

    You have wrote something which I have been writing for a while but always end up leaving it in my draft box.
    I am glad you finally wrote it because it will help people like me who are in process of removing a corporate job tag and venturing out.

    All the best ..

    Love,

    Ruchi


Leave a Reply

