Oatmeal & flax seed cracker

I love crackers! Best way to snack healthy. They go well with almost anything or are great just plain. However, I find the store bought crackers either very expensive or not preservative free. I prefer crackers to biscuits for my evening snacking. They also make a good entry into your fancy cheese boards. Oatmeal gives a different taste and wheat flour is used more as a binder. I tried searching some recipes on the internet for oatmeal crackers but found very few that I liked and was left to experiment on my own.

I wanted to increase the shelf life of my cracker so I decided to negate the fresh herbs and use a different kind of flavor instead. I tend to use a lot of cinnamon in my cooking and decided that this time I will try something “different”.

**Star anise not only gives a sweet flavor but really makes your cracker taste different and at the same time, the taste is not overpowering. I’ve also used some nutritional yeast to give it a bit of a cheesy taste. You can increase the quantity of the yeast more and it will only result in more yumminess. All ingredients used are organic and  vegan.

Ingredients:

100gms rolled oats

200gms wheat flour and some extra for dusting

20gms flax seed

1 tsp star anise powder

1tsp baking powder

50gms vegetable or olive oil

**50gms nutritional yeast (optional) see note above

1 cup water at room temperature

1tbs raw sugar

salt to taste

Blend rolled oats and flax seed in a blender into a coarsely ground powder.

Add wheat flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, nutritional yeast into the ground mixture and mix well.

Add oil and water slowly into the mixture and roll into a dough.

Flatten the dough with the help of a rolling pin into a thin layer. Cut the crackers into desired shapes and sizes.

Place the crackers on a baking tray lined with baking paper and bake at 180 degrees centigrade for 8-10 minutes. Watch them carefully towards the end of the cooking time; they should be just beginning to turn brown at the edges.Once done, allow it to cool on a wire rack. Store them in an air tight container for up to two weeks. I got 20 big sized crackers and you may get 30-40 small ones.

My cat loved these cracker and I’m super trilled. No, no its not cat food. Let me introduce to you “Bhunkas” (means vagabond), who sometimes behaves more like a human and less of a cat 🙂

 

One Comment on “Oatmeal & flax seed cracker”

  1. Nimita says:

    Making crackers today. 😀


Leave a Reply

