Can’t get healthier than this – whole wheat seed cracker!

I’ve been enjoying a lot of goodies from my friends and I can’t stop raving about them. I started a new section called what I don’t cook on facebook for showing off these yummy goodies 🙂

I’ve been doing a lot of baking recipes on my blog ever since I’ve got my new oven. But I promise you that the next one will be a non baked one. I couldn’t stop myself from sharing this one recipe which is not only healthy but so economical to make at home. They are a make ahead kind of a snack which can be made and had as a tea time snack and they also go brilliantly well with any dips.

The best part about these crackers are that you can tweak it the way you like. You can add some cheese or nutritional yeast flakes or flavor it with some pepper or herbs. You can also make them gluten free by using flours like amaranth, millet etc. Overall this recipe is a keeper 😉

seed cracker 1

Ingredients for whole wheat seed crackers

100gms whole wheat flour (some extra for dusting)

2tbs sunflower seeds

1/2 tbs sesame seeds

1tsp flax seeds

1tbs olive oil

1tsp liquid jaggery or honey or agave syrup

1/2tsp salt or salt to taste

water for kneading

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and knead it with some water into a dough. Dust the surface and roll the dough into a flat tortilla to your desired thickness. Make sure that the surface is even all round.

Cut into desired shapes and lay these crackers on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Bake them for 20 minutes at 150 degree centigrade. Turn them half way through the bake time for even baking. Allow them to cool completely before storing them in an air tight container. They should last for 10-15 days. I got about 25-30 pieces. You can double the quantity for more!

seed cracker 2

Looking for some dip options for these crackers?! How about some ricotta cheese spread or fig & olive tapenade or corn & bacon dip or corn & sour cream dip.

You might also like Oatmeal & flax seed crackers

I recently made some ginger and grape jam from Love Food Eat. I made this jam with local grapes from Maharashtra and the consistency of my jam is thicker and more deeper in colour; looks more like a blueberry relish. I’ve been having it  with my crackers!

grape jam

Leave a Reply

