Eggless Chocolate Cupcake

choco cupcake

 

Cupcakes are everyone’s favourite and the best part is that they are bite sized (to make us less guilty). Cupcakes are every where! There are dedicated stores only doing cupcakes and you even have cupcake vending machines in America. Have you seen the cupcake wars on television? Originally these cakes where baked in small cups, hence the name cup cake.

If you have been reading my blog you will notice that the use of refined flour is very minimal. I use  a lot of wheat flour in my baking and sometimes use ragi or amaranth flour to make brownies or chocolate cake. I use unrefined and sulphurless raw sugar or coconut sugar in my baking. I also keep a jar of vanilla sugar which comes handy every time I bake. Vanilla sugar can be made by adding  few pods of vanilla into your jar of sugar. I always tend to forget to add vanilla in my baking but luckily the vanilla sugar always comes to my rescue.

These chocolate cupcakes are eggless and I’ve made them twice already before penning down the recipe here. These are very soft in texture. They seem so easy and seamless to make that your family or friends may not even know if you have added oat flour.

Ingredients:

187 gm flour*
150 gm raw sugar or vanilla infuse sugar
30 gm cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
84 gm olive oil
1 tsp vanilla powder or essence
 a pinch of salt
1 tbs vinegar
245 ml buttermilk or 1 cup milk mixed with 1 tsp of vinegar
2 tbs chopped chocolate (50-60%)
Note: I used a mix of wheat & ragi flour in my first batch and wheat & oat flour in the second. Feel free to experiment with flours.
Procedure:
  • Measure and mix all the dry ingredients like flour, soda, salt, cocoa powder, vanilla, sugar in a bowl.
  • Add the wet ingredients to this dry mixture and mix well.
  • Pour the cake mixture in the cupcake molds and bake at 160 degree centigrade for about 15-18 minutes.
  • Cool on a wire rack once done. Makes 24 nos. You could also frost your cupcakes with some chocolate ganache.

 

 

Leave a Reply

